Treasurer increases list of counties for emergency approvals of linked deposit loans

July 18th, 2012

Farmers in Missouri will be eligible for some much needed help today, as State Treasurer Clint Zweifel has authorized all 114 counties and the City of St. Louis to be added to the list of counties eligible for emergency 24-hour approvals of low-interest Missouri Linked Deposit Program loans in response to the severe drought conditions.

Treasurer Zweifel’s announcement follows the Federal Declaration today from Agriculture Secretary Thomas Vilsack.

The emergency process is known as the Harmed-area Emergency Loan Priority system, or HELP. Individuals applying for agriculture loans are now eligible in every county of the state and the City of St. Louis. A complete and up-to-date list of eligible counties can always be found at

HELP eligible counties are determined by Treasurer Zweifel using executive orders, disaster requests, State Emergency Management Agency and Federal Emergency Management Agency information and Agricultural Disaster Designations and Declarations. Normal loan approval time is 10 days.